Why I’m Giving up Coffee

2015/02/img_0577.jpg

I have been a coffee drinker since I was seven years old. My grandpa introduced me to coffee. It was always our ritual that I would blow on his hot cup of coffee a little before he would have a sip so he didn’t burn his lips – which I truly believed in at the time.

I love coffee for many reasons. The memories, the long talks it fosters in cozy shops, the warm inviting smell, the robust taste, the way it wakes me up and allows me to be a decent person at my least favorite time of day… I love coffee. I love it poured over and percolated and Keuriged. I just love it. But I am giving coffee up. Why? Because I believe that I have found something better – for me at least.

I’ve been trying to figure out what to do about my coffee dilemma, which is that it has started bothering my stomach, probably because of the acidity. I used to drink several cups a day and now I can hardly finish a cup.

I was at White Rock Coffee – a local coffee shop – one day and remembered my friend Haleigh had ordered matcha there a few times. I had never tried it. Didn’t know what it was, but I wanted to. So I asked what it was and ordered it with soy. Matcha is basically a Japanese green tea latte. And it’s wonderful.

It didn’t bother my stomach. The energy spike is much easier, it’s slow and steady and you don’t crash. And if you know about the benefits of green tea, and love the taste, you might as well be sold.

I bought my first tin from Teavana last week and have saved so much money just because I’m not getting it from a coffee shop at $4 a cup.

Here’s my recipe for a small mug:
– ½ teaspoon matcha powder
– ½ cup water
– ½ cup frothed soy milk (you can manually froth in a French press)
– honey to taste

Leave a Reply

