Christmas Cookies

Every year, I look forward to Christmas. The lights and decorations, the love of family and friends, giving and receiving of gifts, the general spirit. Each Christmas Eve, we go see my Granny for dinner and gifts.  Then go to my parents’ house for our traditional cheese, summer sausage, crackers and sparkling drinks. This year on Christmas Eve, I decided to add in a little something different. We made gingerbread Christmas cookies to decorate.

I’ll have you know Christmas cookie cutters are much more difficult to come by than I ever would have thought. After asking around though, Williams-Sonoma came to the rescue, and they have them in all shapes and sizes. Just a tip for gingerbread cookies and cookie cutters: gingerbread tends to be a little softer and oily than other doughs, so I had to add flour to each little ball of dough so that it would keep the mold of the cookie cutter, and I could peel away the edges.

For the royal icing, I combined a mix of confectioner’s sugar, milk, almond extract and food coloring in a mixing bowl to taste and consistency. I preferred only a capful of almond extract. I separated the icings into ziplock baggies and snipped a tiny hole in one corner so that I could outline each cookie and fill it in before designing on top of the base color.

How fun are these cookies? And how beautiful is this carerra marble?!  Thank you to Granite Countertops Fabricator for all your help getting my marble! It’s beautiful and been quite a treat!

Leave a Reply

